All You Need To Know About Miss America 2022

Dec 16, 2021 ByClaire Miles

It’s that time of year again when the excitement for the new Miss America is building and the competition is coming up soon, so we thought we’d put together a handy guide on how the show.  In 2019 Miss Virginia Camille Schrier was coronated as Miss America. Last year the contest was canceled and so Schrier reigned for an unusual 2-year term. She was the fourth Miss Virginia to ever hold the title. The win came with not only the prestige of the crown but also a $50,000 scholarship.

The cancelation last year means that Miss America 2021 will be one of the fiercest iterations of the pageant to date. Furthermore, this year’s Miss America pageant will be the 100th anniversary of the competition and so the pageant will carry even greater honors than usual.

The 100th Miss America pageant is slated to take place at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut. Miss America diehards can watch the show live on NBC’s streaming service, Peacock, at 8 PM ET. Fans can watch for free by signing up for the service on or by downloading the Peacock TV streaming app.

Miss America 2020 Camille Schrier attends the 2020 Beverly Hills Dog Show at the Los Angeles County Fairplex on February 29, 2020 in Pomona

GettyImages/Sarah Morris/Getty Images

The contest will see 50 women from across the states of the U.S.A competing for the Miss America 2022 title. The pageant has a whopping prize pool of $435,500 in scholarships, including a doubly large $100,00 going to the winner as a cash prize.

In honor of the 100th anniversary, previous Miss Americas will be returning to host and serve as judges at the competition.

“We are excited to have our forever Miss Americas join us as co-hosts and panelists as they truly understand the hard work and commitment that each of these incredible young women have put in over the past year as they prepare for our final night of competition and the official title of Miss America 2022,” Shantel Krebs, the Miss America Organization board chair.